top of page

Understanding the Enneagram: A Journey Through Self-Discovery

The Enneagram is more than just a personality test; it's a profound tool for personal growth and self-awareness. The Enneagram is rooted in ancient spiritual traditions and modern psychology and provides a roadmap to understanding ourselves and others through nine distinct personality types. Each type has its unique way of viewing the world, with specific strengths, challenges, and growth paths. Whether you are new to the Enneagram or looking to deepen your understanding, this blog will guide you through its complexities and potential for transformation.

What is the Enneagram?

The Enneagram is a nine-pointed diagram that represents nine different personality types. The word "Enneagram" comes from the Greek words "ennea" (nine) and "grammos" (something written or drawn). Each of the nine points on the Enneagram represents a unique way of relating to the world. While everyone exhibits traits from all nine types, we have one dominant type that influences our thoughts, behaviors, and motivations.

The Nine Enneagram Types

Type 1: The Reformer

Key Traits: Principled, purposeful, self-controlled, and perfectionistic.

Core Desire: To be good, moral, and right.

Core Fear: Being corrupt, bad, or defective.

Type 2: The Helper

Key Traits: Generous, demonstrative, people-pleasing, and possessive.

Core Desire: To feel loved and appreciated.

Core Fear: Being unwanted or unloved.

Type 3: The Achiever

Key Traits: Adaptable, excelling, driven, and image-conscious.

Core Desire: To feel valuable and worthwhile.

Core Fear: Being worthless or a failure.

Type 4: The Individualist

Key Traits: Expressive, dramatic, self-absorbed, and temperamental.

Core Desire: To find themselves and their significance.

Core Fear: Having no identity or personal significance.

Type 5: The Investigator

Key Traits: Perceptive, innovative, secretive, and isolated.

Core Desire: To be capable and competent.

Core Fear: Being helpless or incapable.

Type 6: The Loyalist

Key Traits: Engaging, responsible, anxious, and suspicious.

Core Desire: To have security and support.

Core Fear: Being without support or guidance.

Type 7: The Enthusiast

Key Traits: Spontaneous, versatile, acquisitive, and scattered.

Core Desire: To be satisfied and content.

Core Fear: Being deprived or in pain.

Type 8: The Challenger

Key Traits: Self-confident, decisive, willful, and confrontational.

Core Desire: To protect themselves and control their own destiny.

Core Fear: Being harmed or controlled by others.

Type 9: The Peacemaker

Key Traits: Receptive, reassuring, complacent, and resigned.

Core Desire: To have inner stability and peace of mind.

Core Fear: Loss and separation.

How the Enneagram Can Help You

  1. Self-Awareness: By identifying your Enneagram type, you gain insight into your own behaviors, motivations, and patterns. This self-awareness is the first step towards personal growth.

  2. Improved Relationships: Understanding the Enneagram types of those around you can enhance empathy and communication. Recognizing why others behave the way they do helps to build stronger, more understanding relationships.

  3. Personal Growth: Each Enneagram type has a specific path for growth, known as the integration (or growth) direction. By following this path, you can work on overcoming your fears and healthily fulfilling your desires.

  4. Conflict Resolution: The Enneagram can be a valuable tool in resolving conflicts. Understanding the underlying motivations and fears of the parties involved makes it easier to navigate disputes and find common ground.

Using the Enneagram in Daily Life

  • Journaling: Reflect on your Enneagram type by keeping a journal. Write about situations that trigger your core fears and how you respond to them. This can help you identify patterns and develop healthier coping mechanisms.

  • Mindfulness: Practice mindfulness to stay aware of your automatic reactions and to respond more thoughtfully. Meditation and mindfulness exercises can help you stay grounded and present.

  • Therapy and Coaching: Consider working with a therapist or coach who is knowledgeable about the Enneagram. They can provide personalized guidance and support as you work on your personal development.


The Enneagram is a powerful tool for self-discovery and personal growth. By understanding your type and the types of those around you, you can navigate life with greater clarity, compassion, and effectiveness. Whether seeking to improve your relationships, overcome personal challenges, or understand yourself better, the Enneagram offers a path to deeper self-awareness and transformation. Embrace the journey, and let the Enneagram guide you towards a more fulfilling and authentic life.

Looking for a partner in this journey called life? Consider a Life Coach! Sign up for a FREE CONSULTATION today here!

Join Dr. Lakisha Covert at the Self-Success Seminar at the Hilton Garden Inn. in Waldorf, MD. Register Today Here!


9 views0 comments


bottom of page